.
SCENE ONE:
.
(Enter Jerry on stage)
.
Jerry: “I’m so scared of getting older, I’m only good at being young. Sometimes you wish Life was a locomotive train where you could just opt to alight when you can’t enjoy the ride anymore.”
.
(Enter Cindy)
.
Cindy: “Jerry, take it easy on yourself. You know you can talk to me, anytime”.
.
(Jerry kneels before Cindy, pouring out his anxiety and the worries that he dreams of ways to understand. This continues for a while, until Cindy runs out of mental strength to handle Jerry’s uncertainties)
.
Cindy: “You keep talking about yourself, rambling and rambling. It’s tiring, plus, your sappiness irks me. I can’t stand clingy people.”
.
(Exit Cindy. Exit Jerry)
.
*******
SCENE TWO:

.
(Enter Jerry on stage)
.
Jerry: “Ultimately, it gets hard grappling with dreams that don’t fly as high as they used to, and when gifts become a source of pain and angst, you just want to do away with them.”
.
(Enter Barbara)
.
Barbara: Jer, you don’t have to do this alone. I’m here, you can unburden yourself to me”.
.
(Jerry kneels again, Barbara clutching his head against her thighs and slowly carressing his forehead. Things go on smoothly, Barbara even willing to entertain calls at 3.42am, until things go south)
.
Jerry (to audience): “Ultimately, everything runs its course”.
.
Barbara (springing in unannounced): “Go take your meds, unstable individual! You are crazy, and no one worth her salt should get close to you!
.
(Exit Barbara, exit Jerry)
.
SCENE THREE:
.
(Enter Barbara)
.
Barbara (to audience): “Man that cannot grow up and get a firm grip on his emotions, is that one a man? Man that whines all the time, is that one a man?”
.
Gerard (enters unannounced): “I know who this is.”
.
James (jumps on stage): “I’m here with popcorn and a mug of lipton.”
.
Gbolahan (hurries to stage): “Ah, that one! Na today? I wonder what kind of man he is.”
.
Chorus: “Aiye le o, ibosi o…..”
.
(Exeunt Barbara, Gerard, James and Gbolahan)
.
SCENE FOUR:
.
(Enter Jerry)

Jerry: “Moving on and getting over are mutually exclusive, when you look beyond the semantics”.
.
(Enter Nneka)
.
Nneka: “J, are you going through a breakup?”
.
Jerry: “It’s nothing.”
.
Nneka: “Hope you’re alright”.
.
Jerry: “I’m good.”
.
“Nneka: “You know your worries are safe with me, yea? I want you to know that you’ve got a friend in me.”
.
(Jerry pours out his emotions, after which Nneka slowly tiptoes from stage)
.
Jerry: “Hey, you there? Anyone there?
.
(Exit Jerry, muffled tears offstage)
.
SCENE FIVE:
.
(Enter Jerry)
Jerry: “I think I’m done, yea, done with it all.”
.
(Enter Sharon)
.
Sharon: “Jerry, talk to me. I’m here to provide a shoulder.”
.
Jerry (to audience) “This girl has got jokes”.
.
Sharon: “Won’t you talk to me?”
.
Jerry: “I’m fine.”
.
Sharon: “But I heard you say that….”
.
Jerry: “I said I’m fine, thanks.”
.
(Sharon shrugs, exits stage. Jerry rolls his eyes, sits down in reminiscence for a few minutes, and exits stage, resolving not to ever be open with his feelings)
.
CURTAIN FALLS.
.
THE END.

Originally published on Jerry Chi – April 21, 2017. Photograph: Author
Author’s Bio: Jerry Chi is a lawyer, art enthusiast and literary critic who resides in Lagos. His works have been published by the Kalahari Review, Brittle Paper, Storried, Elsieisy and the Musty Corner. He tries his hands at prose fiction on pensofchi.com, and he has also run columns on a number of online magazines, including Viva Naija, Bagus Mutendi and ManswerOnline. He is currently at work on his debut chapbook collection.
